An Open Poem Regarding Societal Slavery

Beep, Beep, Beep- the alarm screeches… 

Snooze

Beep, Beep, Beep- the alarm screams… again.

Snooze

By the time I wake up, it is 7:45. Time to get up. I have to be at work in 45 minutes…

Jump out of bed, take a shower, brush teeth, find clothes, can’t find sox.

Dammit, I’m gonna be late…. but for what?

To take care of everyone else’s needs before my own? To slave away to fulfill a societal expectation that I productively contribute to everyday society? Who the fuck made up these rules, anyway?

To scrap, pinch, and save so that I can build my life and keep up with the Smiths next door.

They just bought a new boat. I don’t have a new boat. Why don’t I have a new boat?! Time to put in more hours.

8:30 am- at my desk. Work, work, work

4:00 pm- I have to be on the clock at my second job in fifteen minutes.

11:00 pm- Pulling in the drive way

Check the mailbox- bills, bills, and more fucking bills.

Three separate incomes required to comfortably keep this up.

Tired, beaten, worn down… for what? Dead end jobs so I can have things, but we both know that boat isn’t going to make me happy. Neither is that new tv. Oh, before I can even think about wants, I need to pay the rent, electric, water, insurance, car payment. Taxes are due, the dog needs shots, the dishwasher is broken… #adulting

What a waste of time. We won’t get ahead this month.

Why do I feel so unfulfilled?

Land of the free and home of the brave, huh? More like land of the broke and home of the slaves.

Slaves to the requirement to keep up the facade that everything is great! We’re doing ok because we have nice things…

Why am I busting my ass to fulfill society’s expectations of me? Who gives a shit what they think I should do or what you say I should be doing? Last time I checked, you weren’t the boss of me…

There is no real fulfillment in this lifestyle.

It’s called a rat race for a reason. Constantly stepping on everyone else so we can get ahead. Stabbing colleagues in the back so I can get that promotion. Selling that shitty product because it’s going to make my commission awesome this month.

Beep, Beep, Beep- the alarm screeches… 

Snooze

Beep, Beep, Beep- the alarm screams… again.

Snooze

By the time I wake up, it is 7:45. Time to get up. I have to be at work in 45 minutes… and for what?

I notice that homeless guy on the corner with a sign. Why isn’t he in the rat race with me? If I have to be, he should have to be to.

Get a job, bum.

No, wait!!! Really, wait!! Why should he be in the rat race with me?!?! He’s probably more free than we will ever be.

Free to wander and go where he chooses. No colleagues.. No Smith’s to keep up with. He doesn’t have to care what anyone thinks. “SCREW YOU AND YOUR OPINIONS,” he can say. He’s free to live. Free to begin to fulfill himself.

That’s where I started. How did I get here?

Society expects productivity. Society expects that I contribute to a broken capitalist system where it’s all about me and my bank account, and for years I’ve played that game. Trying to get ahead. Trying to build my life.

8:30 am- at my desk. Work, work, work

4:00 pm- I have to be on the clock at my second job in fifteen minutes.

11:00 pm- Pulling in the drive way

 

 

Leave a Reply

