St. John, Pray For Us

John the Apostle

As I said a couple of posts ago, I have a pretty hectic work schedule. Between a full time day job in an insurance office, part time job at night at the local Holiday Inn, weekends with the Kentucky National Guard, and wedding planning with Bre, I couldn’t always make it to RCIA on Wednesday nights. Thank God for Father Jamie being willing to go the extra mile to try and help me learn more from RCIA as my schedule and his would allow it.

Even so, there was/still is a bunch that I don’t know about the Catholic faith and have yet to learn.

One of the details that seemed to fall through the crack was the picking of a Saint to call on at confirmation. You can imagine my surprise when I got an email from Donna Murphy a few weeks ago saying that I and a couple of others still hadn’t let her know which saint we had chosen.

I asked Father Jamie at our next dinner at Cracker Barrel about how to choose and he easily filled me in on the details.

The long and short of what he told me was, “As we go through our sacramental preparation for Confirmation, Confirmation saints are chosen to be a person we want to be like, as well as someone who can pray for us from heaven.”

So there’s no pressure there, right?! (That’s sarcasm…)

I immediately took to my good buddy Google to begin researching who I wanted to be like.

“I think you should check out St. Sebastian,” Father said as we shoveled chicken n’ dumplins down.

St. Sebastian was a soldier in the Imperial Roman Army, and was a undercover christian. He used his position to minister to captive Christians. Father Jamie compared the fact that he was a soldier to my military background.

St. Sebastian.

I hate the Army. Don’t get me wrong, I’m proud to have served, but I get out of the military next month, and there will be absolutely no looking back. I did my time. I’m ready to move on.

Needless to say, I didn’t feel like Ol’ St. Sebastian was a good fit. I also considered St. Michael for a hot minute but… patron saint of warriors. Yeah… also not really a good fit…

And then I came across St. John the Apostle. You know John… the beloved disciple, the only disciple who did not betray Jesus, the disciple who never left. *In the Gospel of John, the phrase “the disciple whom Jesus loved,” or “the Beloved Disciple” is used five times, but is not used in any other New Testament accounts of Jesus. St. John is called the Apostle of Charity, a virtue he had learned from his Divine Master, and which he constantly inculcated by word and example.*

St. John! It made so much sense! John is the embodiment of the man I should want to be. Jesus called him Beloved, he stayed with Jesus until the cross, and was the first to see him resurrected. His devotion to Christ was even moreso than Peter. John never denied Christ. He adopted Mary as his mother at Jesus’ request. He was literally the closest to Jesus that a person could be. His faith in the savior knew no limits, and it showed

St. John is the patron saint of love, loyalty, friendships, and authors. He is often depicted in art as the author of the Gospel with an eagle, symbolizing “the height he rose to in his gospel.” In other icons, he is shown looking up into heaven and dictating his Gospel to his disciple.

I knew without any doubt that this was my saint. If I could be even an inkling as close to Jesus as John was… IF….

So the Bishop approached me on Vigil night.

“What is your confirmation name?”

“John,” I replied, my voice failed and by “ohn” was nothing but a whisper.

“John, Be sealed with the gift of the Holy Spirit.”

I couldn’t get out the “Amen.” Thank goodness he saw my lips move.

“Peace be with you.”

“And with your spirit.” My voice was finally returning.

St. John Devotions

St. John, Intercede for me with the Father that I might have even a portion of the love and relationship that you had with Christ.

Leave a Reply

