Limiting An Infinite God With A Finite Mind…

“I’m so excited you are part of the family now.”

Daniel Glaze, of Youtube’s That Catholic Couple, has said that to me twice in the past two days.. once one of his live-stream shoutouts, and once in a message when I asked him to proofread my first blog entry where I talked about my RCIA confirmation at the Easter Vigil. Side note… Daniel and Ana’s videos were so helpful to me as I went through RCIA and got closer to confirmation. You should definitely check them out!

photo

 

“… PART OF THE FAMILY.”

That phrase sent chills up my spine. Partially because it sounds like a line out of an awesome Godfather flic, but more so because of the broader connotation that it has.

In my last blog, I spoke a lot of the Eucharist and what an incredible experience it was for me to be able to partake of it for the very first time two nights ago. The Holy Eucharist which binds the church together at the mass and is, in fact, the basis for our Catholic faith is what enabled me to take my first step back to a real relationship with Christ. I’ve said it already, but I believe that it was the presence of Christ in the Eucharist that drew me into the Catholic church.

“…Jesus took bread, and blessed, and brake it, and gave to them, and said, Take, eat: this is my body.” Mark 14:22

It is so awesome that Jesus didn’t say “This is a sign of my body” or “This is a representation of my body.” He literally said, “This is my body.”

Maybe I’m still just really excited but Christ is just so much more real this way like I’ve never experienced before. The presence of Christ in the sacraments means that I can literally touch him and know him when I partake of the Eucharist.

In the past, I was taught that we live by faith, and not by sight, and yes.. that is true, I suppose, to an extent. But you can only hear the same old Bible Stories for so long before they develop a bit of a fictional air to them. Yes, I believe them, but how does something that happened 2,000 years ago really apply to me today? How can it be more real than words. How can it be more vivid?? I can try to picture the stories, try to visualize what is being told. But it doesn’t go much further than that, does it? What I’m trying to say is… as a baptist, I had nothing to go on other than bible stories and faith. Communion was nothing more than a symbol of Christ’s body and blood. It was not as real, because for some reason, we chose not to believe that Christ could embody the bread and wine. But why not? Who are we to say that Christ can’t do just that? Who are we to say that the Eucharist IS NOT Christ’s body and blood. More than that, if Christ could work miracles so many years ago, why can’t he do just the same today? Christ’s body and blood are transubstantiated in the Eucharist. It is a miracle in and of itself, and it doesn’t get more real than that. Why have we limited God to the confines of our imagination?

You know, in our parrish there is a cross that was set out for Easter. In the center of that cross is a little glass reliquary. Do you know what is in that reliquary? A splinter of the cross of Christ. I know, I couldn’t believe it either! Had you ever wondered what happened to that cross? I’ll be honest, I really hadn’t. I mean, while I did believe that there was a cross, and that Christ did die on it, it was still an event that took place 2,000 years ago. In RCIA one night, someone mentioned that cross with the reliquary in it, and I was just plum flabbergasted. I went over to the cathedral and looked at it the first chance I got. But as I looked at the cross with that little glass circle in it, I decided, “Who am I to say that God couldn’t have put this splinter of the cross here for this very reason.. To actually show me just a little splinter of what He can do.”

I’m part of that family now. The family that understands that God is infinite in his wisdom and his capability. He is not limited by what I can understand. I’m a tool that he has available and even when I don’t know what He’s doing, His plan is gonna work out just fine.

God, Help me to not limit what you can infinitely do in my life within the confines of my finite mind.

Leave a Reply

